Reflection

Responding to Failure

The following is an excerpt from a blog by Natasha Walizer and it struck true after having focused on a Growth Mindset the past few weeks. I wanted to share:

‘“It’s not about the actual failure itself, it’s how you respond to it.”

I look at these words every day, every morning. They are written in my journal. They are on my boards in my classroom. I even have this quote typed on a sticky note on the desktop of my school and personal computer.

The first time I heard these words, they resonated with me. A failure in your life might not so much be a failure, but a challenge. It’s unplanned. Something, anything that does not go your way, but its own way. It doesn’t take an F on a paper in red pen to call it a failure. It takes anything that challenges you.’

How true that it is the response to failure that is so important. It is what you decide to do when faced with a challenge that truly defines a person. So, next time you fail, what will you do?

Retrieved from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/natasha-walizer/dear-abby-wambach_b_9617466.html?

Leave a Reply

