Digital Citizenship · Reflection

Reflection on Digital Citizenship

Over the past five weeks I have been learning about different aspects of digital citizenship. Overall, I feel like I grew in my depth of knowledge regarding digital citizenship. I was already familiar with Ribble’s Nine Elements but enjoyed diving deeper into the topics.

One of my weakest aspects in regards to digital citizenship was, and still remains, Copyright laws. But I leave this course with a better understanding of the laws and fair use regulations, which are important and helpful to take back to my faculty.

My biggest challenge in this course was finding time to complete all of the readings. I found all of the resources to be relevant so I felt it was important to find the time to read or watch and reflect on all of the main and supplemental resources. This has been a challenge for me throughout all of my courses as I have a limited amount of time to allot to my school.

I feel like my best work was my final presentation. I think I created a product that is applicable to my students and focuses on the issues that my students face more often. I created it the first week (officially) back to school when I was working on creating the iPad Bootcamp for students. In creating this presentation it helped me to focus a bit more on how we need to support our students in their digital citizenship growth. While all nine elements are important, there are some particular ones that I have learned need a closer focus at the middle school level.

The discussions really helped to connect my personal life to my learning. I am trying to be more cognizant of what I post to my social media accounts and in creating a positive digital footprint. I also am more aware of the legality (or illegality) of some streaming TV websites that I previously used. As a parent, I am even more aware of the importance of maintaining privacy on social media accounts. I will use all of these lessons as I move forward. Perhaps one of the most useful things I’ve learned in this course is to not only check to see what my digital footprint looks like on a consistent basis, but also to make sure to consistently publish items (via my blog) in order to continue building a positive footprint.

As I continue to grow as an educational leader, I hope to be a more purposeful model regarding positive digital citizenship. My biggest goal is to make sure that all of my sources are properly cited. This has been an area that I’ve lacked in in the past and, now that I am more aware, I want to help model proper citation for my teachers and students. By modeling for teachers, I hope it will impact my students as well.

The past five weeks have had a different format than previous courses. I really liked the clarity of the assignments and the case studies. This allowed for relevant comprehension of the information and provided me with examples (case studies) that I could use in Professional Development with my faculty. I liked that the writing consisted of just a few paragraphs rather than full papers as well. This allowed me to chunk my work time in an easier fashion by completing one part of the week’s assignment as I had time instead of starting and stopping throughout a large assignment.

As new students begin this course I would suggest keeping a notebook of relevant sources and notes to use for the culminating project. I did not do this and now have to go back and reread many of the articles in order to find the ones that I want to use in my reflective essay.

I don’t really think that there is one particular activity that I would change. I felt all were pertinent to the subject matter; however, if I had to pick one, I think it would be the quizzes. I don’t feel like I learned as much from the quizzes as with other activities. I would not offer the quizzes in later courses.

Overall, I would tell my friends that this was a great course to take in order to better understand digital citizenship. The case studies were great ways to take scenarios and think about the actions and consequences. I would encourage my friends to take this course in order to better understand how their digital actions can have major impacts. I think this is often overlooked or misunderstood by some non-digital natives.

References:

Ribble, M. (2015). Digital citizenship in schools: Nine elements all students should  know (3rd ed.). Eugene, OR: International Society for Technology in Education

 

Leave a Reply

